Why do people have servers that send email from invalid domain names?  This is worse than a spammer who PRETENDS to be from another domain name; you're sending from a domain that doesn't even exist, and has no MX servers registered in DNS.  How is a server supposed to realise that emails coming in are legit?

Spam filters are put in place for a reason.  If you want your emails to be delivered and read, you should probably send them from a domain with the correct SPF headers in place.  Emails that go missing like this are impossible to find again. 

Typical header set: (3 different emails)

Return-Path: <PB_eRecruiting@invalidemail.com>
Received: from nyrelay.<removed>.com (nyrelay.<removed>.com [<ip removed>])
        by [removed] with ESMTP id [removed];
        Mon, 03 Apr 2006 20:34:12 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: neutral ([removed]: [removed] is neither permitted nor denied by domain of
PB_eRecruiting@invalidemail.com)
Received: from nyprap28.ny.rsft.net (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
        by nyprap28.ny.rsft.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id [removed]
        for [removed]; Mon,  3 Apr 2006 23:34:12 -0400 (EDT)
Message-ID: <[removed].JavaMail.rsoft@nyprap28.ny.rsft.net>
Date: Mon, 3 Apr 2006 23:34:12 -0400 (EDT)
From: Pitney Bowes eRecruiting Center <
PB_eRecruiting@invalidemail.com>
To: [removed] <[removed]>

Return-Path: <hr-ibm@invalidemail.com>
Received: from nyrelay.<removed>.com (nyrelay.<removed>.com [ip removed])
        by [removed] with ESMTP id [removed];
        Tue, 14 Mar 2006 15:50:29 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: neutral ([removed]: [removed] is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of
hr-ibm@invalidemail.com)
Received: from nyprap09.ny.rsft.net (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
        by nyprap09.ny.rsft.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id [removed]
        for [removed]; Tue, 14 Mar 2006 18:50:29 -0500 (EST)
Message-ID: <[removed].JavaMail.rsoft@nyprap09.ny.rsft.net>
Date: Tue, 14 Mar 2006 18:50:29 -0500 (EST)
From: IBM Canada <
hr-ibm@invalidemail.com>
To: [removed] <[removed]>

Return-Path: <hr-telusmobility@invalidemail.com>
Received: from sjrelay.<removed>.com (sjrelay.<removed>.com [ip removed])
        by [removed] with ESMTP id [removed];
        Thu, 26 Jan 2006 21:58:51 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: neutral [removed]: [removed] is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of
hr-telusmobility@invalidemail.com)
Received: from sjprap06.sj.rsft.net (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
        by sjprap06.sj.rsft.net (8.11.6/8.11.6) with ESMTP id [removed]
        for [removed]; Fri, 27 Jan 2006 00:58:50 -0500
Message-ID: <[removed].JavaMail.rsoft@sjprap06.sj.rsft.net>
Date: Fri, 27 Jan 2006 00:58:50 -0500 (EST)
From: Human Resources <
hr-telusmobility@invalidemail.com>
To: [removed] <[removed]>


 
Sunday, June 11, 2006 7:03:41 PM (Eastern Standard Time, UTC-05:00)
Taleo is not a recruitment company, they provide Recruitment Software 100% configured by their costumers. The solution is a hosted ASP the Emails you refer to up top were generated by the software based on Pitney Bowes IBM Canada and Telus Mobility configurations...they could have chosen any other domain but they chose invalidemail.com.
ED
Comments are closed.